ANPS banner
ANPS logo

Current Activities

National:  Database Development | Research Friends| Placenames Australia Award

State based initiatives:   VicNames Historical Information Project | Murray Chapman Award


The Murray Chapman Award

The Murray Chapman Award for research into Aboriginal placenames is sponsored by the NSW Geographical Names Board. It honours the memory of Murray Chapman, a Yuwalaraay man who was a member of the Board and a champion of Aboriginal languages. Researchers are invited annually to submit papers, not previously published or accepted for publication. The Board seeks contributions which add to the knowledge base of Aboriginal placenames in NSW.

The Award for 2012
The 2012 Award was won by Dr David Nash for his paper 'Comitative Placenames in Central New South Wales'.

The Award for 2013
The 2013 Award was shared: the two winning entries were:

  • Dr David Nash, for his paper 'Bulga, Nyrang and other pidgin placenames of NSW'
  • Dr Jim Wafer, for his paper 'Ourinbah and the polysemy of "ourin" '



About Us | Newsletter | Resources | Current Activities
Contact Us | Just for Fun | Publications | FAQ


Copyright 2014, Placenames Australia (Inc)